Waving the white flag…

OK. its 1st August which marks7 months of non-stop blogging and I am afraid that that I have reached my limit as far as blogging every day is concerned. I have admitted defeat, thrown in the towel  and removed the post-a-day badge from the blog. In the end it was just too much of a commitment and I was running out of pictures to post and things to say.

Writing the blog every day has become too much of a chore and a burden; furthermore, looking at the stats, fewer and fewer people are reading it. Familiarity breeds contempt, or at the very least  waning interest.

It has been suggested that my time may be better served by posting less frequently and when I have something to say and I honestly think that is probably the best way to go; certainly it will free more time to concentrate on doing something more constructive with the photography such as has been achieved via Society6.

This is categorically NOT  the end of the blog, just the end of the post-a-day 2011 experiment. In a couple of weeks time I will be off to Northumberland again (one of the other reasons for calling it a day now) and will no doubt come back with some great new pictures. But in the meantime thanks for sticking with me thus far. Hopefully, less will mean more going forward.

Digg This
About Mark

I am a 43-year-old amateur photographer from Chester, Cheshire UK. I took up digital photograpy a couple of years ago after hitting 40. See it as my mid-life crisis. Unfortunately, unlike, say, forming a band, having a tattoo or buying a motorcycle I have come to realise that the particular hobby I have chosen as a means to escape the drudgery of the day job is probably one of the most expensive. On May 12th 2009 I spent a marvellous informative day with professional photographer Stewart Randall. This has prompted me to take my photography more seriously and, although I don't expect it to lead to a career change, maybe sell or license some of my images so that I can fund my hobby. I hope you like the images I post and please feel free to comment. All constructive criticism is welcomed. This blog will document my attempts to get to grips with the digital medium and see if I can get some wider recognition for my images. View all posts by Mark

One response to “Waving the white flag…

Leave a Reply

