Glastonbury 2011: Day 3

Moz

Friday. the day of the rain. And lots of it. Also the day the festival officially started with U2 headlining. After yesterday’s hanging question yes I did go and see U2. I am not a big fan, although I will admit to having all the albums up to and including The Unforgettable Fire on vinyl somewhere in the loft. All I can say is that you don’t get to be the biggest band in the world without putting on a good show and, begrudgingly, I was impressed. Not least with Bono’s voice but also with the way they managed to hold an audience in the pouring rain. Before U2, somewhat unsuccessfully, one of my musical heroes Morrissey had attempted the same (pictured). Here was Morrissey at his most truculent; he obviously didn’t want to be there and he thought that we didn’t want to be there either. He promised to be brief and said that he knew we were all waiting for Bono and chums, when actually a huge amount of people, including Professor Brian Cox, were waiting for him.

To be fair he drew the short straw. Up against a secret appearance by Radiohead that was the worst kept secret in the world and the new folk of Mumford and Sons he didn’t stand a chance. Yes the audience was small (for second on the bill on the Pyramid Stage) but it was committed and the set had its moments, despite the fact that he seemed to curtail it quarter of an hour early. As usual The Smiths songs were the most well received. This photo was actually taken with my telephoto lens from miles away so I am pretty pleased at how it turned out, despite the bobbing heads (and hand) up front. This made me appreciate the decision to buy a second-hand telephoto lens after my old one died. Black and white was the only way to go with this one as when taking photos from such a distance, in dark conditions, it disguises a multitude of sins (and grain).

Earlier in the day we saw Big Audio Dynamite, who were ace despite Mick Jones – of The Clash no less – now looking pretty old, probably because he is. Don Letts on the other hand, boasting the worlds longest dreadlocks under an enormous hat does not appear to have aged a bit…

jonesletts

Elsewhere on the site there was evidence that the entrepreneurial spirit was alive and well at Glastonbury…

cup cakes

And a horde of hungry seagulls stalked the site harassing revellers for food…

gulls

Digg This
About Mark

I am a 43-year-old amateur photographer from Chester, Cheshire UK. I took up digital photograpy a couple of years ago after hitting 40. See it as my mid-life crisis. Unfortunately, unlike, say, forming a band, having a tattoo or buying a motorcycle I have come to realise that the particular hobby I have chosen as a means to escape the drudgery of the day job is probably one of the most expensive. On May 12th 2009 I spent a marvellous informative day with professional photographer Stewart Randall. This has prompted me to take my photography more seriously and, although I don't expect it to lead to a career change, maybe sell or license some of my images so that I can fund my hobby. I hope you like the images I post and please feel free to comment. All constructive criticism is welcomed. This blog will document my attempts to get to grips with the digital medium and see if I can get some wider recognition for my images. View all posts by Mark

Leave a Reply

