Geisha

Geisha

Kids. Who’d have them. No, don’t answer that as I have two. It is an old trope that ‘kids these days don’t know they’re born’ probably going back 1000s of years. I often wonder what it must be like growing up in a world where the internet is the most natural thing in the world. I, on the other hand still marvel that something like the internet could have even been invented, let alone come into fruition. But then I suppose the Victorians marvelled at Stephenson’s Rocket. Technology marches onwards. We keep up until it deserts us and leaves us scratching our heads at the side of the road and watching the cloud of dust head over the horizon. But yet some things endure and appear to be timeless; such as Lego.

When I was a child the most you could hope for on the 363 days that weren’t your birthday or Christmas was the occasional free gifts/bribes that came attached to the front of comics. There were also collection cards – football, Star Wars – and Panini sticker albums that you had no chance of ever filling on 5p a week pocket money. These things are still very much in evidence today but there are a whole raft of other crazes fighting for the attention of our children. I blame Pokemon. I don’t understand it but I still blame it. Pokemon passed us by and I breathed a sigh of relief but then there were Go-Gos… and then Bakugans… and then Silly Bandz. But the current craze du jour in our house is currently Lego mini figures of which there have now been three ‘waves’. Each figure comes sealed in a packet and there are 12 to collect in each wave. There are a mixture of sexes and genres from Traffic Cop to Pamela Anderson Baywatch babe to Mexican to Vampire to Zombie and my children are obsessed. Of course, you never know what you are going to get until you open the packet and this is the problem. Some appear harder to come by than others, usually the ones that they really, really want.

So to say my son was less than impressed to unwrap a Lego Geisha would be an understatement. He immediately tried to swap it with his sister (she had an ice hockey player) but she was having none of it. Even if she wanted a Geisha, which secretly is probably very likely, she was never going to swap because he wanted what what she had. It’s how sibling rivalry works. I know from experience. If you have something your brother or sister (brother in my case) wants to hold onto it. It makes it more precious even if you don’t really want it. Personally, I quite like her. She has class. Unlike the Lego werewolf.

Digg This
About Mark

I am a 43-year-old amateur photographer from Chester, Cheshire UK. I took up digital photograpy a couple of years ago after hitting 40. See it as my mid-life crisis. Unfortunately, unlike, say, forming a band, having a tattoo or buying a motorcycle I have come to realise that the particular hobby I have chosen as a means to escape the drudgery of the day job is probably one of the most expensive. On May 12th 2009 I spent a marvellous informative day with professional photographer Stewart Randall. This has prompted me to take my photography more seriously and, although I don't expect it to lead to a career change, maybe sell or license some of my images so that I can fund my hobby. I hope you like the images I post and please feel free to comment. All constructive criticism is welcomed. This blog will document my attempts to get to grips with the digital medium and see if I can get some wider recognition for my images. View all posts by Mark

One response to “Geisha

  • Kieran Hamilton

    Love the pic. I was about 8 or 9 when Pokemon originally took over, after spending endless amounts of money on the cards I realised – even as a child – that it was an addiction. I learned valuable lessons from my Pokemon addiction! Lego was always a constant, though. I loved Lego, I don;’t have kids of my own but it was great to pass on my Lego to my youngest brother (he’s a full 12 years younger than me), he’s just lucky he didn’t have a sibling of the same age to fight over it with!

Leave a Reply

