Sing!



Sing!, originally uploaded by Zardoz67.

Very short blog post tonight as it’s getting late and I got engrossed in BBC4s wonderful documentary ‘Reggae Britannia’. When I was young I never really liked reggae, certainly in it’s pure Jamaican form. True we had the Police and the Clash, and then in Thatcher’s Britain the new ska of The Selecter and The Specials. But original reggae like The Wailers passed me by. And I hated UB40. I now recognise that I was very wrong. I have blogged before about The Smiths and for a while I agreed with Morrissey that ‘reggae is vile’. Of course Morrissey being Morrissey he has since stepped back from that comment and claimed he was being wilfully inflammatory – a fact that appears to be borne out by his ‘You Are The Quarry’ album being released on a reggae label.

I now realise that I was an idiot. I won’t admit to being an expert but my musical appreciation has widened to embrace to Bob Marley and Lee Scratch Perry and Max Romeo and Trojan records, to name but a few. I even like UB40 up to a point (that point being Red, Red Wine).

Apologies for the photo, the musician pictured is very much African. But being a white, middle class, Cheshire boy I have not got an awful lot of pictures that could really illustrate a blog about reggae music with. So I’m sorry but hope you understand.

And the message of the blog is really about widening horizons and realising that you can be wrong. You may not realise until years later but that’s part of growing up. I still don’t get RnB or boy bands but who knows, maybe in my 70s I’ll be writing a blog about Take That and admitting I was wrong*

*This will not happen

About Mark

I am a 43-year-old amateur photographer from Chester, Cheshire UK. I took up digital photograpy a couple of years ago after hitting 40. See it as my mid-life crisis. Unfortunately, unlike, say, forming a band, having a tattoo or buying a motorcycle I have come to realise that the particular hobby I have chosen as a means to escape the drudgery of the day job is probably one of the most expensive. On May 12th 2009 I spent a marvellous informative day with professional photographer Stewart Randall. This has prompted me to take my photography more seriously and, although I don't expect it to lead to a career change, maybe sell or license some of my images so that I can fund my hobby. I hope you like the images I post and please feel free to comment. All constructive criticism is welcomed. This blog will document my attempts to get to grips with the digital medium and see if I can get some wider recognition for my images. View all posts by Mark

One response to “Sing!

Leave a Reply

