Time travel and still life

Time travel, originally uploaded by Zardoz67.

Busy weekend this weekend photography wise… On Saturday we went en famille to Chirk Castle in North Wales for know other reason other than the weather was glorious and entrance was free (National Trust open day). Walking round the castle, we came across a man in full chain mail who was talking about the castle and its history whilst also showing off an array of weaponry and helmetry (is that a word? It is now).

As a father to an 8-year old boy obsessed with all things fighting we duly spent a long time talking to the knight whilst the kids tried on helmets and waved swords. Whilst the knight was explaining some particularly gruesome torture to the gathered throng I noticed a collection of his other demonstration objects on the window sill. Without thinking I took a picture and didn’t think twice about it.

However, on getting home I was surprised to find its a pretty effective picture; certainly in terms of conveying the atmosphere of a medieval castle. I’ve never attempted a still life before that didn’t involve flowers and I’m pretty pleased how this has turned out. There was just enough light coming through the window to illuminate the objects and to negate the use of a flash. But at the same time the extremities of the image are in darkness (The Dark Ages? honk!).

Later on we walked through the gardens and I took some pictures of a pair of statues which I believe represented a Greek myth (but which I don’t know – any classics readers out there). Anyway, the statues struck me as interesting because not only were they incredibly life like, one of them was blindfolded and the other had her hands bound behind her back. Both statues were female nudes in, I think bronze. You can see pictures of them on my Flickr feed.

One of the things I like about Flick is that people can comment on your pictures and when you are an amateur photographer there is nothing better than unsolicited positive feedback. So, I was pleasantly surprised this morning to find that one of my statue pics had been added as a favourite by some one I didn’t know. However, on clicking on their user name it appears that here was someone with a ‘thing’ about blindfolding. It’s my own fault for naming the picture ‘Blindfold statue’ and it’s certainly getting some views but I now worry that this might be for the wrong reason. Certainly, said statues did not strike me as being particularly erotic, certainly when compared to some of the great statues of antiquity. So there you go, maybe I have found my niche at last 😉

All comments welcome as ever…

About Mark

I am a 43-year-old amateur photographer from Chester, Cheshire UK. I took up digital photograpy a couple of years ago after hitting 40. See it as my mid-life crisis. Unfortunately, unlike, say, forming a band, having a tattoo or buying a motorcycle I have come to realise that the particular hobby I have chosen as a means to escape the drudgery of the day job is probably one of the most expensive. On May 12th 2009 I spent a marvellous informative day with professional photographer Stewart Randall. This has prompted me to take my photography more seriously and, although I don't expect it to lead to a career change, maybe sell or license some of my images so that I can fund my hobby. I hope you like the images I post and please feel free to comment. All constructive criticism is welcomed. This blog will document my attempts to get to grips with the digital medium and see if I can get some wider recognition for my images. View all posts by Mark

Leave a Reply

